vegetarian mayonnaise vs non-vegetarian mayonnaise

Vegetarian Mayonnaise vs Non-Vegetarian Mayonnaise – Difference

Mayonnaise or simply Mayo, as we know it, is a regular condiment with most of the commercial foods. Be it sandwiches or burgers, mayonnaise has become an inseparable part of the meals.

However, in recent years, people have shown interest in the vegetarian lifestyle. Mayonnaise has taken the same course too.

Besides, it is not just the health-conscious that are taking the leap but also the animal-lovers. Traditional Mayo is made from eggs and vegetarian mayo does not have any hint of it.

Let us have a brief of what is mayonnaise after all. Mayonnaise is basically egg-sauce. Its origin is traced back to French kitchens where it was used as a side just like the other sauces. 

Soon enough after it was discovered, it spread like wildfire over the world. Now, you can find mayonnaise in sandwiches, burgers, fries, momos, and whatnot.

Vegetarian Mayonnaise vs Non-Vegetarian Mayonnaise

Vegetarian Mayonnaise has become widely popular in recent years whereas the traditional Non-Vegetarian Mayonnaise has had its following since always. 

Vegetarian mayonnaise uses plant-based ingredients but not the one ingredient which is believed to be the ‘identity’ of mayonnaise that is Eggs. It substitutes eggs with a variety of other factors to maintain the same taste.

Ingredients

Non-vegetarian mayonnaise is a mix up of egg yolks, oil, and an acid, either vinegar or lemon juice. On the other hand, vegetarian mayonnaise is made of cow milk, oil, and vinegar with salt, pepper, mustard to add a tangy bite to it. In vegan mayonnaise, cow milk is replaced by soy milk. 

Recipe

The recipe of the two variants of mayonnaise is exactly the same save for the ingredients which we have already discussed above. Take the measured quantities of each ingredient and whip them up in a mixer.

That’s all it takes for a bowl of mayonnaise to be made at home. Of course, the commercial firms put in more effort because commercial mayonnaise requires preservation also. 

Taste

Many prominent chefs and food bloggers have pointed out that the taste of vegetarian and traditional mayonnaise does not actually differ much. In fact, some even suggested that vegetarian mayo tasted better.

Color and Texture

The texture of vegetarian mayonnaise is creamier and silkier than traditional mayonnaise. This is because of the fact that milk is used for making vegetarian mayonnaise. Non-vegetarian mayonnaise is thicker and gel-like.

As for the color differences between the two, vegetarian mayonnaise is white like cream whereas traditional mayonnaise has a paler shade or in some cases is plain yellow.

Nutritional Values of Vegetarian Mayonnaise (per 100g)

  • Calories: 485.5 cal
  • Carbohydrates: 15.7 g
  • Fat: 47.8 g
  • Cholesterol: 0 mg
  • Sodium: 357 mg
  • Potassium: 10 mg
  • Protein: 0.1 g

As you can gather from the above nutrition chart, vegetarian mayonnaise has 0 cholesterol. This indicates that all the fat is good and unsaturated. 

Eating vegetarian mayonnaise does not weigh you down or make your stomach feel heavy. It means you do not feel lousy or lazy after a meal high on mayo content.

Nutritional Values of Non-Vegetarian Mayonnaise (per 100g)

  • Calories: 680 cal
  • Carbohydrates: 0.6 g
  • Fat: 75 g
  • Cholesterol: 42 mg
  • Sodium: 635 mg
  • Potassium: 20 mg
  • Protein: 1 g

As is evident from the above nutrition chart, traditional mayonnaise is high in cholesterol and bad fat. It works in the direction of making you obese. Also, high levels of saturated fats in meals can lead to heart diseases. Hence, one should always keep a check on the amounts of mayo in their meal.

Vegan Cheese vs Vegetarian Cheese – The Difference Explained!

This Is Why Vegan Cheese Smells So Bad – The Healthiest Cheese?

Difference Between Paneer and Mozzarella Cheese

Difference Between Cheese, Butter, and Paneer | Cheese vs Butter vs Paneer